South Africa has added seven new nations to the list of the countries that can enter the country Visa-free.

Two African countries, Ghana and Sao Tome were included and three were from the Gulf region – Saudi Arabia, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates. New Zealand are the sole South Pacific nation on the list.

This was announced by the Minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi.

The following countries will now be able to enter the country, visa-free:

  • Qatar
  • United Arab Emirates
  • New Zealand
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Cuba
  • Ghana
  • Sao Tome and Principe

He said; “The President has announced in the #SONA (state of the nation address) in both February and June that we shall accelerate the implementation of e-visa system. E-visa will make it easier for tourists to visit, and for companies to acquire employees with critical skills.

“It will be an online application with a risk-based adjudication and issuance of your visa electronically as opposed to a hard copy. On receiving the electronic message by email, you just continue straight to your airport and head on to South Africa.

“The problem is not that people must not come to South Africa, but that whoever enters the country must be properly documented. The porous borders make documentation extremely difficult.”

He added that there is still homework to be done in countries like China, India and Nigeria.

“While we are busy tackling the matter of the three countries, we shall this financial year increase two and a half times the number of people who work for Home Affairs to process visas in both China and India.

“We shall double the number of people who process visas to our country in Nigeria.”